Know Your Jewellery

Jewellery FAQs

What fascinates people to wear Diamond Jewellery?

Diamonds are a girl´s best friend and complete a woman´s appearance by highlighting her beauty. It also evokes strong emotional feelings in women by making them feel indulgent, beautiful, successful, confident, graceful and complete - feelings which cannot be expressed merely in words.

What is the carat (karat) system for Gold jewellery?

Carat (or karat) is the term used to measure the proportion of Gold in jewellery. The origin of the word ´carat´ lies in ´carob seed´, which was originally used to balance scales in Oriental bazaars. Pure Gold is designated 24 carat, and is the finest Gold found; 18 carat Gold is defined as 75% pure Gold.

What is the difference between red, yellow and white Gold?

Pure Gold is yellow in colour, but when alloyed with other metals, results in varying colours of Gold. Gold alloys are usually a mixture of Silver, copper, and zinc, where the amounts of each vary depending on the desired final colour, normally white and red Gold.

Can I find out where my Gold jewellery was manufactured?

Hallmarking on a piece of Gold jewellery will give you an indication of where it was manufactured. However, hallmarking is only a legal requirement in some countries, such as the United Kingdom. While in other countries it may be done voluntarily, sometimes it is not carried out at all. In places where hallmarking is carried out, small symbols on the item ascribe information such as caratage, country of manufacture and the company that manufactured it. The amount of the information available from the hallmark will vary according to the standards of the country that the jewellery was purchased in.

How often should I have my precious jewelry appraised?

Appraisal of jewellery once in every three to five years is ideal as the prices in the market for Diamonds and precious metals can change.

What is a Pearl made of and how is it formed?

Pearls are available in two forms: the "natural" Pearl and the other is the "cultured" Pearl, created by human intervention in nature. When an irritant, usually a parasite, finds its way into the oysters shell, a natural Pearl is formed. To form a cultured Pearl an irritant is introduced into the mollusk. This item is coated with numerous layers of a secretion called nacre, which eventually forms a resplendent Pearl. Natural Pearls are quite rare and beyond most consumers means. Imitation Pearls are not Platinum. They are simply made of ceramic, shell, glass or even plastic. These are simply man-made beads.

What size of Pearls should I buy?

Many people are concerned that the Pearls they look at may be too large. In most cases however, the larger the better! Pearls of 9-10mm can be absolutely stunning, even on a petite woman. However sizes of 7 to 8mm are still the most common size sold and extremely versatile for everyday use or for that special evening out.

For young girls, cultured Pearls that are less than 6mm are ideal. 6mm to 7mm are larger and much more popular particularly in Akoya Pearls with their incredible AAA Luster. For more extravagant occasions, Pearls sized above 8mm may be worn.

What color of Pearls will suit me best?

Almost any color of Pearl looks stunning on women. However, fairer complexioned women will find that natural peach/pink, natural lavender, white with rose overtones and black Pearls are the most complimentary. For those with olive or tanned complexions , white Pearls with ivory overtones are best. White Pearls with Silver overtones are best suited to darker complexions. This is only a guide, as each person has different tastes and Pearls should also be matched appropriately with clothing and the occasion at which they are worn.

What should I look for while purchasing a Diamond?

While making a Diamond purchase, you need to keep in mind the key characteristics in a Diamond, the 4C´s: Cut, color, clarity and carat. Generally the best quality Diamonds are those with maximum brilliance which is determined by the cut of the Diamond and the absence of any yellowish tinge in the case of colorless Diamonds. Carat, which is the weight of the Diamond, is most often a matter of personal taste.

Why is it important to get certification along with any purchase of diamond jewellery?

Jewelry is all about trust and we tell our customers the truth about diamond jewelry. For that, endorsement by a respected certification company is a must.

IGL takes the C’s of diamonds to the next level moving from the 4 Cs to 6 Cs, also incorporating “certified” and “conflict free”. IGL uses a state of the art process to estimate the diamond grade. This allows buyers to confidently compare Tara offerings with the best in the market. Appraisers here are highly qualified gemologists who have years of experience in appraising, which allows IGL to maintain a high degree of professionalism and ethics, along with technical excellence.

What is the importance of a BIS certificate?

BIS is a regulatory body of the Govt. of India which has standardized various products consumed today. It is extremely crucial to understand the benefits provided by ensuring Hallmark Jewellery. BIS certified gold Hallmarked Jewellery can be identified by 5 visible marks on the back of the jewellery – a BIS mandate. These are:

  • BIS Hallmark Logo
  • Purity of Gold ´916´ -22ct, ´875´ - 21ct etc.
  • The Hallmarking centre´s logo
  • The jewelers´ identification mark
  • Year of Hallmarking ´A´ -year 2000, ´B´ -year 2001 .... ´H´ - year 2007.

Is Platinum the same as white Gold?

No, it is quite different. White Gold achieves its whiteness when other metals are added to yellow Gold. Platinum, conversely, is white to begin with and maintains its luster permanently. Since white Gold is really yellow Gold with alloys added to it, the alloys tend to wear away with usage. To keep your white Gold jewelry looking its best, you can have it polished and rhodium plated on a regular basis.

What is the difference between precious and semi-precious gemstones?

Precious stones are diamond, ruby, emerald and sapphire, while all others are semi-precious.

This distinction reflects the rarity of the respective stones as well as their quality: all precious stones are translucent with fine colour in their purest forms, except for the diamondDiamond, and are very hard (8-10 on the Mohs scale).

Other stones are classified by their colour, translucency and hardness. The traditional distinction does not necessarily reflect modern values, for example, while garnetsGarnets are relatively inexpensive, a green garnetGarnet called Tsavorite, can be far more valuable than a mid-quality emeraldEmerald.

Whats my birthstone?

January – Garnet
February – Amethyst
March – Aquamarine
April – Diamond
May – Emerald
June – Pearl
July – Ruby
August – Peridot
September – Sapphire
October – Opal
November – Topaz
December – Turquoise

For more details please click here